Freewriting a Thing: The Necklace

Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2013

Roll: 3,2. Result: Freewrite, Thing

I used to have a necklace that my great-grandfather gave to me. It was sterling silver, and by the time I got it, good and tarnished. It was a simple chain with an elegant little setting for a blue gemstone. I don’t know what kind of gem it was, or if it even was one, but I know that it was the most beautiful jewel I’d ever seen. It wasn’t totally clear, but it wasn’t opaque either. There was a sort of glistering swirl of dust in the thing, and yet the gem was the swirl. When I looked at it, I saw the boundless sea on a clear summer day, all mixed up with the cloudless sky overhead. Looking at it was happiness, and it reminded me that nothing was complicated, everything was pure.

When I moved out, I made sure to put it with my things, and to this day I remember stowing it in the same bag as my toothbrush. When I finally finished unpacking, I couldn’t remember setting it out anywhere in my new apartment. I went through all the boxes and bags I’d brought with me. I tore up the whole apartment I’d just organized. I called my parents, scoured my car, retraced my steps, and called my parents again. I waited, to see if it would unearth itself naturally. As of right now, I still have not seen that necklace.

I never met my great-grandfather, but I like to imagine he had blue eyes, like the gemstone, and like mine. I wonder if he’d be upset that I’d lost it. I wonder why he told my parents that I should have it. He must have had thirty or forty great-grandchildren, and he picked me. While I was still a baby. My parents told me that he left it in his will, without any explanation. I was really grateful to have it, after I realized how special it was, when I was old enough, but now I have nothing.

It’s ironic, that I want to have it again, just so that it can remind me that nothing is complicated. Nothing is lost. Everything is where it should be.

Oh!

Here it is.

Leave a Reply

